Canon and Chaconne
for string quartet + electronics
written for the Quatuor Bozzini
duration 7'30"

“This piece begins with an entanglement of lines, a looping of sorts and quietly chaotic tapestry. The quartet begins in silence, listening to a fixed media/electronic improvisation perhaps peculiar, another looping of an electronic improvisation I was experimenting with at the same time as writing the quartet. This material then dissolves, leaving a bed of chords which come back again and again, as the solo violin dances above.”

View score


© LARA AGAR 2024